A Collection of Beatles Oldies But Goldies


Cool vinyl compilation from the original swinging 60s hipsters



A Collection of Beatles Oldies (subtitled But Goldies!)1969 is a vinyl compilation album featuring a selection of songs by The Beatles recorded between 1963 and 1966. This copy is a stereo reissue (PCS 7016).

Six of the tracks on this LP (“From Me to You”, “We Can Work It Out”, “I Feel Fine”, “Day Tripper”, “Paperback Writer” and “I Want to Hold Your Hand”) make their UK debut here as both album tracks (they were previously issued only as singles) and with stereo mixes (some done so especially for this compilation). “She Loves You” also made its debut on a long-playing record here, but it was a re-processed stereo mix, as the multi-track tape had vanished and remains missing to this day. The song is complete on both the first pressing mono and stereo issues.

The front cover features cool artwork by David Christian, in a very ’60s flower power style, whilst a colour photograph by Robert Whitaker was chosen for the back cover. It was taken on 30 June, while the band was on tour in Japan. Before the first show in the Nippon Budokan Hall they started an oil and watercolors painting on a large paper.

The cover of this album contributed to the “Paul is dead” hoax as the road shown on the cover seems to lead into the head of the man sitting on the cover.

This is one of very few Beatles albums released worldwide, original or compilation, that has not been issued on CD or digital format.

Track Listing:

Side One:

1. “She Loves You” John Lennon and Paul McCartney 2:19
2. “From Me to You” John Lennon and Paul McCartney 1:54
3. “We Can Work It Out” Paul McCartney and John Lennon 2:11
4. “Help!” John Lennon 2:18
5. “Michelle” Paul McCartney 2:40
6. “Yesterday” Paul McCartney 2:03
7. “I Feel Fine” John Lennon 2:21
8. “Yellow Submarine” Ringo Starr 2:36

Side Two:
1. “Can’t Buy Me Love” Paul McCartney 2:08
2. “Bad Boy” (Larry Williams) John Lennon 2:18
3. “Day Tripper” Paul McCartney with John Lennon 2:49
4. “A Hard Day’s Night” John Lennon with Paul McCartney 2:31
5. “Ticket to Ride” John Lennon 3:01
6. “Paperback Writer” Paul McCartney 2:15
7. “Eleanor Rigby” Paul McCartney 2:02
8. “I Want to Hold Your Hand” John Lennon and Paul McCartney 2:26

Condition: Excellent*

*NOTE: Condition has been categorised according to The Record Collector Guide, which is the accepted grading system for vinyl in the UK. ‘Excellent’ grading is listed as: “…Some signs of having been played, but there is very little lessening in sound quality. The cover and packaging might have slight and or / creasing.”

Price: £20.00